SellYourAIData
Get a free valuation Contact

AI Data Deal TrackerDeal brief

×

Sage licenses more than 300 journals to OpenEvidence

Sage granted OpenEvidence a license to more than 300 peer-reviewed titles for its clinical AI platform. Research appears alongside existing literature with direct citations, and no financial terms were disclosed.

MIAMI, September 29, 2026. OpenEvidence announced that Sage Publishing has licensed more than 300 peer-reviewed titles to its AI platform for physicians, according to a summary of the company's Business Wire release.1

Terms of the deal

OpenEvidence will add Sage's research to its platform, shown alongside existing literature with direct citations to the original articles. The summary says the deal gives Sage direct access to the clinical questions physicians ask daily.1 Exclusivity, duration and territory are not stated, and financial terms were not disclosed.1

Background

OpenEvidence has been assembling content from major medical publishers. It signed NEJM Group in February 2025, the JAMA Network in June 2025, Wiley in March 2026 and Springer Nature in August 2026.23

For Sage, the agreement is its third known AI content partnership of 2026, after Consensus in January and Causaly in July.4 Sage is an independent academic publisher with a portfolio of more than 1,500 journals, so 300 titles is a minority of its list.

The source for this entry is a third-party summary of the release, not the release itself.

What it means for data sellers

Buyers can offer more than cash. Information about how end users query the product has value to a content owner that wants to understand demand. A seller should ask what usage data it will receive and how often. As with other vertical deals, the seller should expect competitors to appear on the same platform.

How the deal came together

  1. OpenEvidence widened its publisher roster. It had already signed NEJM Group, JAMA Network, Wiley and Springer Nature.
  2. Sage licensed 300+ titles. The license covers more than 300 peer-reviewed titles.
  3. Citations link to originals. Sage research is shown beside other literature with direct citations to the original articles.
  4. Sage gained usage insight. The summary of the release says the deal gives Sage direct access to the clinical questions physicians ask daily.

Takeaways for companies with data

  • Usage insight can be part of the value a seller negotiates, not only a fee.
  • Social science and nursing titles can find buyers in clinical AI, not only medical journals.
  • Publishers that sign several vertical AI deals build a portfolio rather than depend on one.

Sources

Every numbered reference above points to an entry here. Figures come from these pages as of the date shown at the top of the article. Where a source reports a number it got from unnamed people, the text says so.

  1. Sage Licenses 300+ Journals to OpenEvidence for AI-Powered Clinical Research Access (BriefGlance, September 2026)
  2. OpenEvidence and NEJM Group sign multi-year content agreement (OpenEvidence, February 2025)
  3. Springer Nature and OpenEvidence announce agreement (Springer Nature, August 2026)
  4. Sage inks publishing deal with Causaly (GEN, July 2026)

###

About the AI Data Deal Tracker

SellYourAIData tracks publicly reported sales and licenses of data to AI companies, with the price, terms and sources for each. Entries are checked against public reporting and updated as deals change. SellYourAIData was not involved in this deal. To ask what your company's data could sell for, get a free valuation. To report a deal, contact us.