AI Data Deal TrackerDeal brief
Google's News AI pilot reaches 400 publications, adding Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes
Google said more than 400 publications now take part in its paid News AI pilot, with Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes among the newest. Google did not disclose payment amounts or terms.
MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif., October 15, 2026 - Google said more than 400 publications worldwide now take part in its News AI pilot program, a paid licensing arrangement opened in December 2025. The newest partners include Axios, CNN, The Financial Times and Forbes, alongside local US publishers. Google did not disclose payment amounts or terms.1
Terms of the deal
PPC Land, summarizing Google's corporate blog post, reported that Google pays participating news publications for the delivery and use of enhanced content to develop new AI features. The examples given were in-depth article overviews on Google News publisher pages and customizable audio briefings. Google did not say how it calculates payments or in which countries the publications are based.1
Press Gazette reported that Reach announced its participation for its UK and Ireland portfolio, which includes the Mirror, Express, Daily Star, Manchester Evening News and Liverpool Echo, and that CNN confirmed its partnership, describing it as compensation for the use of its intellectual property in AI products.2 Google described the program as a commercial partnership in which it pays for enhanced content rights.2
Background
Google opened the pilot in December 2025 with a handful of outlets, including The Washington Post and The Washington Examiner, and its first news licensing deal had been with the Associated Press in January 2025.1 A separate Digiday report in September 2026 described a different Google scheme, an AI contribution pilot, that pays based on judged value and has appealed to small and mid-sized publishers.3
What it means for data sellers
The Google program shows a buyer moving from individual deals to a standard program. A seller who signs gets a ready path but little room to negotiate, and the terms are set by the buyer.
Sellers should compare the program with direct deals. Payment is not published, so it is hard to judge value, and sellers should ask for the formula, audit rights and the ability to exit. Joining a program can also affect the price a seller can ask elsewhere.
This entry is a news summary. SellYourAIData was not involved in the deal.
How the deal came together
- Google announced the expansion. On October 15, 2026 Google said the pilot had passed 400 publications.
- New partners were named. Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes joined, with local US publishers.
- Google pays for enhanced content. Google said it pays for the delivery and use of enhanced content to build new AI features.
- Terms stayed private. Google did not say how much it pays or how payments are calculated.
Takeaways for companies with data
- Google scaled a pilot into a program with hundreds of sellers.
- CNN described its deal as compensation for the use of its intellectual property in AI products.
- Without disclosed terms, sellers cannot benchmark the payments.
Sources
Every numbered reference above points to an entry here. Figures come from these pages as of the date shown at the top of the article. Where a source reports a number it got from unnamed people, the text says so.
- Google now pays 400 publications to feed AI features in Google News (PPC Land, October 2026)
- Who's suing AI and who's signing (Press Gazette, October 2026)
- Google rolls out pay-per-value AI licensing program to publishers (Digiday, September 2026)
###
About the AI Data Deal Tracker
SellYourAIData tracks publicly reported sales and licenses of data to AI companies, with the price, terms and sources for each. Entries are checked against public reporting and updated as deals change. SellYourAIData was not involved in this deal. To ask what your company's data could sell for, get a free valuation. To report a deal, contact us.