SellYourAIData
Get a free valuation Contact

AI Data Deal TrackerDeal brief

×

Reuters lists its journalism archive back to 1987 on Snowflake Marketplace for AI applications

Reuters announced it is offering its journalism archive, dating to 1987 in five languages, through Snowflake Marketplace under licensed terms. It did not disclose pricing, revenue sharing or whether the license permits model training.

August 26, 2026 Reuters announced it is offering its journalism archive, dating to 1987 in five languages, through Snowflake Marketplace under licensed terms.1

Terms of the deal

Reuters is making its archive available through Snowflake Marketplace, an enterprise data and software marketplace.1 Reuters' Erika Young said the integration "allows us to participate in the AI ecosystem under proper licensing terms that uphold our intellectual property rights."1

Reuters did not say whether the license permits model training or is limited to retrieval and analysis.1

Background

Snowflake's Cortex Knowledge Extensions program includes 17 publishers, and Snowflake told Digiday that some publishers signed six-figure deals structured as flat fees or usage-based agreements, The Media Copilot reported.1 Reuters also launched a Model Context Protocol server in July that lets customers' AI agents access content they already subscribe to.1

What it means for data sellers

Publishers with deep archives can reach enterprise AI builders through a marketplace instead of a direct license. The six-figure range reported for some Snowflake publishers gives a rough idea of scale, but it was not tied to Reuters.

How the deal came together

  1. Reuters announces the listing. On August 26, 2026, Reuters announced the listing in a press blog post, according to The Media Copilot.
  2. What is offered. The listing is journalism dating back to 1987 in five languages, which Reuters says can power AI applications that track events, analyze companies and surface market or geopolitical signals.
  3. How it is delivered. Snowflake's no-copy model lets customers work with the data where it is hosted and supports purchasing on the platform.
  4. Terms not disclosed. Reuters did not disclose pricing, revenue sharing, customer numbers or the length of the agreement.

Takeaways for companies with data

  • A data marketplace lets a publisher license an archive without a bilateral negotiation with each AI developer.
  • Archive licensing and live feeds are different products, and Reuters separately launched an MCP server in July for subscribed content.
  • Without disclosed price or training rights, the listing shows a sales channel, not a rate.

Sources

Every numbered reference above points to an entry here. Figures come from these pages as of the date shown at the top of the article. Where a source reports a number it got from unnamed people, the text says so.

  1. Reuters puts its archive on Snowflake Marketplace (reporting by The Media Copilot, August 27, 2026) (The Media Copilot, August 2026)

###

About the AI Data Deal Tracker

SellYourAIData tracks publicly reported sales and licenses of data to AI companies, with the price, terms and sources for each. Entries are checked against public reporting and updated as deals change. SellYourAIData was not involved in this deal. To ask what your company's data could sell for, get a free valuation. To report a deal, contact us.