SellYourAIData
Get a free valuation Contact

AI Data Deal TrackerDeal brief

×

The Washington Post partners with OpenAI to bring its reporting to ChatGPT

ChatGPT will display summaries, quotes and links to original Washington Post reporting in response to relevant questions. It is the Post's first AI licensing deal. Financial terms were not disclosed.

WASHINGTON, April 22, 2025 - The Washington Post announced a partnership with OpenAI in which ChatGPT will display summaries, quotes and links to original reporting from The Post in response to relevant questions. It is the Post's first AI content licensing deal. Financial terms were not disclosed.1

Terms of the deal

Digiday reported that the Post became the latest major publisher to strike a licensing deal with OpenAI, joining a group that now spans more than 20 news organizations. The announcement quoted by Digiday said ChatGPT will display summaries, quotes and links to original reporting from The Post in response to relevant questions.1

The agreement focuses on surfacing content in response to news-related queries in ChatGPT search. Digiday noted that the language differs from earlier OpenAI publisher deals, such as Axel Springer's in December 2023 and Time's in June 2024, which explicitly included provisions for training OpenAI's models. The Post did not respond to Digiday's questions about the deal terms.1

Background

Digiday linked the shift to litigation: AI companies are facing lawsuits from media organizations such as The New York Times alleging copyright infringement from training, which makes paying for training rights harder to justify. A law-firm partner quoted in the report said AI companies have already trained their models on vast amounts of web content.1 The Post was later named among the publishers in Google's AI pilot partnerships program, announced in December 2025.2

What it means for data sellers

The Post deal marks a change in what buyers are paying for: current, high-quality content to ground answers, instead of historical data for training. A seller whose data is fresh, structured and regularly updated is better placed in this kind of deal than one whose main asset is an old archive.

Sellers should think about the product they are offering, whether a feed, an archive or per-query access, and price each one accordingly.

This entry is a news summary. SellYourAIData was not involved in the deal.

How the deal came together

  1. The Post and OpenAI announced the deal. On April 22, 2025 the two companies announced a partnership.
  2. Display is the focus. ChatGPT will show summaries, quotes and links to original Post reporting.
  3. Training was not mentioned. Digiday noted the announcement does not refer to training OpenAI's models.
  4. Terms stayed private. The Post did not respond to Digiday's questions about terms.

Takeaways for companies with data

  • Deals moved from training rights to display rights over 2024 and 2025.
  • The Post was the 20th-plus news organization in OpenAI's publisher group.
  • A seller that is silent on terms leaves buyers and rivals guessing.

Sources

Every numbered reference above points to an entry here. Figures come from these pages as of the date shown at the top of the article. Where a source reports a number it got from unnamed people, the text says so.

  1. What The Washington Post's OpenAI deal says about AI licensing (Digiday, May 2025)
  2. Google is testing AI-powered article overviews on select publications' Google News pages (TechCrunch, December 2025)

###

About the AI Data Deal Tracker

SellYourAIData tracks publicly reported sales and licenses of data to AI companies, with the price, terms and sources for each. Entries are checked against public reporting and updated as deals change. SellYourAIData was not involved in this deal. To ask what your company's data could sell for, get a free valuation. To report a deal, contact us.